ARE OUR FOCUS
Providing A Vigorous Defense For Individuals Facing Domestic Violence Charges
Domestic violence charges can have a profound effect on many aspects of your life. Even prior to trial, protective orders can keep you from seeing your children, and the sigma of the charges can permanently alter your relationships, your employment and your standing in the community. If you face these charges, you need immediate, aggressive legal support. With more than a decade of criminal defense experience, the Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC, in Glen Burnie can provide the help you require.
Who Can File Charges Under Maryland Law
The Maryland domestic violence laws pertain to a variety of individuals beyond family members or even people living within the same residence. Also, while men are more commonly charged with domestic violence, many women face charges as well. Section 4-501 of the Maryland Family Code lists persons eligible for relief from the person accused of domestic violence — referred to as the respondent — such as the following:
- The current or former spouse
- Any individual who cohabitates with the respondent for at least 90 days within the year prior to filing a complaint
- Anyone related to the respondent by blood, marriage or adoption
- Someone who has a child in common with the respondent
- A vulnerable adult
Types Of Domestic Violence Charges
Domestic violence charges can involve any act causing bodily harm or placing an individual in fear of imminent bodily harm, as well as any type of sexual offense, false imprisonment or stalking.
As with any form of assault offenses in Maryland, the prosecutor can pursue charges with varying degrees of severity, such as:
- Second-degree assault is a misdemeanor charge, but it can still result in severe penalties, including significant fines and up to 10 years of incarceration. Generally, these charges are imposed when the victim’s injuries do not rise to the level of first-degree assault.
- First-degree assault is a felony charge involving serious physical injury to a victim that may result in permanent disability, disfigurement or death. Assaults involving firearms automatically receive first-degree classification under the law. Convictions can carry a number of severe penalties, including up to 25 years in prison.
- Domestic violence against a minor can be considered either a second-degree or first-degree crime based on the severity of injuries, but it is always charged as a felony under Maryland law. While second-degree convictions can carry as many as 15 years in prison, first-degree convictions can land a violator in prison for up to 30 years.
The Reasons Behind The Charges Can Be Important To Your Defense
The issues leading to domestic violence charges are often complex. For example, a painful relationship breakup can lead to false charges, or a litigious divorce may prompt a spouse to file false charges simply to gain an advantage in a child custody settlement. When you bring your concerns to Robert A. Siegel, you benefit from a lawyer who works closely with you to reveal the circumstances that led to false charges. I make every effort to uncover evidence that can secure the best possible results for your case.
SEEK IMMEDIATE REPRESENTATION FROM AN EXPERIENCED GLEN BURNIE DEFENSE ATTORNEY
For a free initial consultation about domestic violence charges in Anne Arundel County or elsewhere in Maryland, contact Joshua Tabor and Robert A. Siegel with the Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC, in Glen Burnie at 410-760-9433 or online.
Have Your Case Evaluated Today
Fields marked with an * are required
Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC
7310 Ritchie Highway
Glen Burnie, Maryland 21061
306 High St
Cambridge, MD 21613
Toll Free: 800-584-1215